Paris Recap

everyday-deelights-Paris-1I recently returned from my vacation to Paris and Spain and have decided to make two separate posts on each country, because I wanted to make a little video for each.

Let me start by saying that Paris was amazing and that I feel so fortunate to have such wonderful opportunities to travel. I must admit I was a bit skeptical about what they say, you know, “the city of romance.” But seriously…it was sooooo romantic there. A crepe in one hand, a bottle of wine in the other, while watching the lights twinkle on the Eiffel tower, isn’t a memory I will forget anytime soon. It was magical. You really have to experience it for yourself to know what I mean.

The food in Paris was so good. We had fresh croissants filled with chocolate and espressos daily. Well I had the espresso…Derek my husband, hates coffee. I loved the food in Paris. I have a weakness for pastries, sandwiches, crepes and of course…wine! Did you know you could buy mini bottles of wine right by the Eiffel tower? If you plan on going to Paris, you need to do that!

We also went to Frenchie, this really great wine bar. You may have heard of it before. It has been featured in New York Times and has a crazy waiting list. A tourist mentioned this place to us and told us to go to the wine bar. It’s right across from the restaurant and if you get there around 7pm, you’ll get a seat. They serve food there as well and it’s amazing!everyday-deelights-Paris-2

Since it was my first time going to Paris, we did a lot of touristy stuff and walked a ton. I love sightseeing, but sometimes it’s nice to relax and submerge yourself into a culture (minus the touristy stuff). We got to experience both, which was nice. I talk about the sights we had planned on seeing in this post. We did them all, and more!

The highlight of Paris for me, was watching the lights twinkle on the Eiffel tower with food and drinks in hand. Other highlights include, my husband surprising me with a lock to place on the famous lovers bridge, over the Seine River. That was sweet. We had fun running in and out of bars, restaurants and cheese shops, along rue Montorgueil (in the rain of course). That’s how we found L’Epicerie Restaurant. The duck was out of this world. I also loved how they had English menus and were very kind, even with our terrible French. We then stumbled upon Pont d’Arcole, the bridge in Somethings Gotta Give. You know the one, where Jack Nicholson leaves dinner with Diane Keaton and walks to a bridge where he starts to cry. I think he says, “Look who gets to be the girl.” It’s my favorite movie! Last but not least, the fondue at Chalet Gregorie Restaurant was yummy. We had fun there.

If you haven’t been, I really hope you can make it to Paris one day. It really is all it’s cracked up to be. Check out my packing post right here, if you need some help packing for your next vacay and don’t forget to watch my Paris video below. Next recap Spain…so stay tuned!

3 thoughts on “Paris Recap

Leave a Reply

