The Art of Type

This month has been extremely busy, as I am designing invites for a few weddings, and getting ready for a few photo shoots. But I wouldn’t change a thing!

I was also able to attend a letterpress course, which is something that I have wanted to do for years. It couldn’t have come at a better time, since I am planning on offering letterpress design for my wedding stationary. Who doesn’t love a good deboss!

I took my course at a place called KOZO Studios, in Leslieville. The studio owned by my instructor Akemi, was amazing. Shelves covered in type and beautiful prints everywhere. I’m thinking a photo shoot is in order here! Akemi is a graduate of the former OCA, now known as OCAD and has been studying letterpress for many years. Please check out her blog here!

Here are some pics from my workshop. I am giving one of the prints away as a birthday present and the first to comment gets the second print free! Say something nice! lol

The final piece says, “A photograph is a secret about a secret.”

Enjoy the pics and thank you Oksana for taking them. Letterpress truly is a beautiful art. Long live moveable type!

Enjoy!

xoxo dee

5 thoughts on “The Art of Type

  1. Beautiful Prints & beautiful photos! I must look into this course. I have been looking all over for a Toronto type community but havent had much luck in finding one. I'll keep you posted if I do. Great work.

Leave a Reply

